Food / What do the Spanish eat?

Cola Cao – the most popular drink in Spain

Young or old, everyone in Spain seems to have a soft spot for what I would call Spain’s national chocolate-milk drink – Cola Cao. Although primarily a children’s drink, many adults in Spain also have Cola Cao for breakfast. And if they don’t, then they will at least be able to sing you the theme song from Cola Cao adverts. 

Cola Cao was born in 1946 and has been a star product ever since. After visiting the product’s website, I thought its producer had a good sense of humour when he said: “You will find it in your usual bar or cafeteria, just remember: in the bar, be original… ask for a Cola Cao!” I have since been on the lookout for Cola Cao in any restaurant or tapas bar and believe it or not, there has not been a single one which didn’t have a big yellow box of Cola Cao somewhere behind the bar.

Cola Cao comes in powder form and is intended to be mixed with milk. Many people also add it to their breakfast cereal. Another popular consumption method is dunking María biscuits (a kind of tea biscuit with vanilla flavouring which became popular in Spain following the Spanish Civil War when it turned into a symbol of Spain’s economic recovery after bakeries produced mass quantities to consume a surplus of wheat) into Cola Cao milk.

The curious thing about Cola Cao powder is that it doesn’t really dissolve very well. Instead, clumps of it form floating on the surface of the milk. I asked Vic whether this was not a draw back. He explained that it was part of the appeal. I assume it is something you have to grow up with in order to appreciate it.

2 thoughts on “Cola Cao – the most popular drink in Spain

  1. Hi there.

    I’m founder of http://www.walkedthru.com – which is actually a blog community. We’re currently recruiting bloggers, of all subjects and professions to contribute.

    I think your blog, Eva in Mdrid, is a fantastic example of what we are looking for – it is fun, specific, informative, and well written, with great imagery.

    We also feel it would be a fantastic addition to our French Riviera blog and other Travel WalkThru’s.

    So with that I would love to invite you to visit our community, and to ask you if you would like us to list your blog under WalkedThru Madrid perhaps?

    Feel free to contact me directly.

    Regards

    Luke ‘SkyWalker’ Connelly
    Founder
    http://www.walkedthru.com
    luke.connelly@hotmail.co.uk

    • Dear Luke,
      Thank you for your e-mail. I am very glad that you enjoyed my blog. I started writing it as a way of sharing my experiences in Spain with my friends and family and as a place to note down important histories or explanations of things or places that I discover here. If you think that it would be a good addition to your Travel WalkThru blogs, then feel free to list it in your community.

      Best,
      Eva

Leave a comment